• Task 2: Some employers are giving increased importance to employing people with good social skills in addition to good qualifications. Do you agree or disagree that social skills are as important as good qualifications for success in a job?

Nowadays, employers are more likely to recruit people with good social skills as well as good qualifications. In my opinion, it is reasonable that social skills play the same important role as good qualifications.

It is undeniable that good qualifications are accompanied with some benefits for employers. To begin with, employees with good qualifications are recognised by renowned universities or colleges so that they can have in-depth knowledge, skills about a particular field. Hence, they have the ability of solving persistent problems that require academic understanding and contribute to renovations for companies in the long run. In addition, products which are invented by scientists, engineers and so on with good certificates are more easily to get reputations from customers, business partners. For example, advertisements are more convincing when products are told to be created by experts with a variety of degrees and then that makes profits for employers.

However, social skills are also crucial in employment because they are beneficial for future works. First, people with good social skills find it easier to learn and improve in workplaces that include a lot of people. Thanks to great social skills, they are inclined to confer with others and adopt precious knowledge so they can disclose their inner potential and devote themselves to companies. Second, social skills also help people bring good results in teamwork, which usually happens in real life because they can find good ways to show their own attitudes and listen to others in order to get the best decision. Therefore, they also contribute to create a joyful, comfortable environment in workplaces and enhance images of companies.

In conclusion, social skills are as necessary as good qualifications in employing people.