In many countries, the government spends a large amount money on the arts. Some people agree with this. However, others think the government should spend more on healthcare and education.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is ongoing debate about the distribution of national funds and whether it should be diverted to the arts or healthcare and education. While some contend that more financial resources should be directed towards the arts, others argue that monetary initiatives should be allocated to medical services and education. Although both viewpoints hold significant merits, I lean more toward the latter for the following reasons.

On the one hand, one compelling reason for investing in the arts is the potential economic growth. Specifically, arts constitute a means of cultural preservation, prompting tourism activities in the fields of cultural and heritage. For instance, numerous paintings depicting the resilience and unity of the Vietnamese people during the American war have been publicized widely. These masterpieces serving as a means of historical preservation have attracted many international tourists arriving in Vietnam, leading to exponential growth in the tourism industry of this country. As a result, governments should continue investing in the arts to gain more economic values.

On the other hand, others argue that medical treatments and education are the main focus of government subsidies. The rapid pace of globalization has led to the widespread transmission of many deadly viruses, which can exert detrimental effects on human health. For instance, the outbreak of COVID-19 in early 2020 claimed thousands of lives across the globe, necessitating government investment to roll out vaccines to curb its widespread transmission. Furthermore, the influx of migrants from rural areas to more affluent places has contributed to a rising demand for education, requiring governments to establish new institutions to address the needs of residents. As a result, it is imperative for governments to invest in education and healthcare services to prevent emerging issues, such as rising illiteracy rates.

In conclusion, although both perspectives hold notable benefits, I advocate that healthcare and education should be the primary focus of government funding. While medical treatments safeguard the survival of many individuals, education can provide them with precious opportunities to advance in their future careers. Therefore, such investment in these two sectors can foster sustainable and prosperous growth.