Many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial idea heating a debate over whether the food import market has gained tremendous popularity in various nations. Obviously, this phenomenon has both pros and cons, however, the advantages still outweighs its counterpart.

Apparently, there is no doubt that food transportation does bring a wealth of positive impacts on that country. Initially, this occurrence will make food shortage be addressed much more effortlessly. In particular, as the growth of fruit has always been immensely affected by the appropriate climate conditions and soil quality, which some nations don't have, importing sources of intake is one of the optimal solutions. For instance, Singapore imports millions of commodities from tropical fruits such as mangoes and watermelons to even various livestock goods to meet the increasing demand of the domestic market, allowing Singaporeans access to delicacies that cannot be produced domestically due to the unsuitable geography conditions. Moreover, the importation of food also provides customers a wider range of choices. Consequently, consumers are not only offered a monumental amount of products or delicacies that are often non-existent in their home country but also a wider range of price.

While the redeeming features are widely acknowledged, the drawbacks still linge. Evidently, conveying food over distinct nations can take a heavy toll on the environment. Due to the fact that foreign foods are often transported by air and train, those transportations usually use a huge amount of conventional energy source, which leads to a massive exhaust emission. As a result, those toxic carbon footprint will wreak havoc on the environmental quality.

In conclusion, it is clear that food imports do bring a wealth of beneficial influences on both individuals and the nations. However, governments should facilitate the trading market in cross-bordered countries that are much safer and could decrease the deterioration in air quality.