Nowadays young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

There is a controversial idea heating a debate over the fact that a growing number of young migrants from the countryside to cities for education and work. Obviously, this phenomenon has both pros and cons yet the disadvantages still outweighs its counterpart.

In terms of the underlying reasons, resulting from imbalanced social development in multiple aspects, the geographical differences in life quality are the major triggers. Due to the less likely to be a regional economic or political centre to attract large company investment, most rural and remote areas may not be able to show their competitive advantages in providing sufficient job opportunities. As a result, despite the keen competition in many metropolises, thanks to its prosperity, urban areas are extremely attractive to fresh graduates since they offer higher incomes and more promising career paths with substantial work experience accumulated from famous companies.

Conversely, the side-effects of this phenomenon to both rural and urban areas, however, might be more worrying than what a society can benefit from. It is obvious that they are likely to encounter a frenzy of life pressure from either work or study due to the fierce competition in urban areas. Moreover, although the entire human resource of a country can be better utilised, the large city is likely to be the only that will tremendously benefit. Losing a young and competent labour force is having an adverse bearing on the farming industry. Consequently, the local economic progress will be gradually declined, which leads to the gap between these two locations being further widened. Besides, the uneven population distributions may lead to other resource-related social problems such as the higher demand for accommodations compared to the limited urban space.

In conclusion, the occurrence of this trend mainly attributed to the greater chances that the metropolises offer to inhabitants. However, this case may act as a disturbance in both rural and urban areas.