Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

There is a controversial idea heating a debate over whether scientifically claimed future human beings are likely to use the same language in any region of the world for their daily communication. Obviously, this phenomenon has both pros and cons, however, the disadvantages still outweighs its counterpart.

Apparently, if global citizens adopted an international language, this over time would put many natural cultural identities and some minority cultures on the verge of extinction, when those ethenic groups gradually adopt a shared culture. As a result, the effect of declining cultural diversity is destructive, causing people to live in a simple world and think and act in a similar way since everyone is monolingual. Moreover, due to the fact that individual discrepancies in habitat, preferences or even biological structure, some syllables of that international language can be pronounced with a different pitch or using other words to communicate the same idea. Such differences in use of words will potentially be a hindrance to communication rather than supporting humanality with ease and convenience.

While the aforementioned disadvantages are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if those benefits are ignored. In different areas of global communication, such as science and new, having a common language will evidently removeds communication barriers and accelerate the convenience. For instance, English as a mostly existing dominant language currently boosts efficiency and prevents misunderstanding on many formal occasions. Likewise, a wealth of introductions or know-how will be used much more effortlessly. There would be little effort for manuals written in different languages to guide users a certain procedure in the use of a piece of equipment. This may mean that every citizen can enjoy the usefulness of technology and its ensuing higher standard of living.

In conclusion, as the predictions of the faraway future that humans will use the same language for communication can pose more dangers for culture rather than offer benefits.