In many countries, imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes. However, some people believe that better education will be a more effective solution.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although prison is considered as a powerful way to control crime, improvements on education have gained social endorsement as a means to eliminate the problem from its root. Personally, I agree with supporters of the second statement.

On the one hand, the reasons why prisons are of necessity for social security are varied. Advocates of maintaining prison systems insist that law breakers should be contained to ensure the safety of other citizens. Especially, dangerous criminals such as murderers have to be imprisoned for their felonies because this punishment is a symbol of justice and fairness. Furthermore, severe prison sentences are believed to be a deterrent against crimes. Knowing there might be a chance of getting caught and condemned to jail, which also means losing freedom and leading a miserable life in a cell, those who are having the intention of committing crimes would reconsider going down the path.

On the other hand, I would side with those who think education serves as a remedy for the origin of crimes. Education contributes greatly to heightening people’s intellect and to forming a civilized society. With access to better educational services, citizens would be well-informed about the damage that committing crimes would cause to their community and themselves, which eventually will lead to a decline in crime rates. Additionally, the possession of certain qualifications through fundamental education like vocational training could secure a person’s stable life, which would dispel any ideas of committing crimes.

In conclusion, it seems to me that improving education systems would be the most justifiable to answer to the question of crimes even though the impacts of prisons are undeniable.