Some people think that too much money and too many resources have been given to the protection of wild animals.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people claim that wild animals’ preservation uses much more financial resource and other resources than it should. Personally, I strongly disagree with this statement because of the importance of wild animals in the ecosystem and the worthiness of preservation compared to money and other resources.

First of all, wild animals play a vital part in the balanced ecosystem as it maintains biodiversity. The shortage of apex predators due to illegal poaching can indirectly lead to a dramatic fall of other plants. This is the result of exceeding growth in herbivores’ population as these animals are right on the top of botanical species in the food chain and extremely harmful to the biodiversity. In addition, marine creatures such as clams contribute enormously to maintain ocean ecosystem at a balanced level. The life of several specific species in the sea depends a lot on water quality. With the over exploitation of shellfishes, sea water can no longer be filtered, as those animals are the main marine force in purifying the ocean, which result in disappearance of fishes in the area.

Secondly, resources are being used efficiently rather than wastefully to preserve wild creatures. The situation of overusing money is irrational because it actually has no real value compared to wild animals and is just a form of valuation that human created to estimate the value of certain things. It is clear that money is printable and quite unlimited while living creatures in the wild cannot be produced in such way and needed to follow the long natural process of reproduction. Other resources such as human and land are being utilized in the most possibly efficient way to protect wild animals. The forces being in charge of preservation is still limited in some areas compared to the quantity of illegal poachers and needed to be increased. Furthermore, most preservation regions are naturally wild habitats of animals and being remained unchanged to protect the animals there meanwhile artificial constructions just occupy a small proportion of such places and should increased as well.

In conclusion, the importance of wild animals in the ecosystem and the worthiness of preservation, in my opinion, are two main reasons that make it unreasonable to claim that too much financial resource and other resources are being used for protecting wild animals.