In many countries, insufficient respect is shown to older people.

What do you think may the reasons for this?

What problems might this cause in society?

It is undeniable that these days adequate respect is given to the elderly. The modern tech-savvy world has changed a lot compared to the past lifestyle as well as cultures. As a result, this might affect communities in various ways, which will discuss now.

On the one hand, it is apparent that in the modern era, everyone is dependent on technology and it has utterly revolutionized our lives. Nowadays, older people are not given much respect and care in several countries. Firstly, the prime reasons for this are the conflicting beliefs and viewpoints between them and the young, also the general decline in the amount of time available for family members to bond. Since the technology has developed to its peak, thus many teenagers or young adults consider the use of technological devices in top priority while the senior citizens are not aware and have no knowledge about these aspects. In addition, the relationship between family members is declining remarkably. That is to say, due to the fast-paced life of today's, people have no time to spend quality moments with elders, as each person is running towards the rat race to make money. Hence, the bond between family members is deteriorating day by day.

On the other hand, this has numerous other issues which affect societies as well. First and foremost, as people find it unnecessary to show proper respect to the elder people, the young will most likely disregard to respect others. As a consequence, they will fail to teach the next generation about mutual respect and family values. This may eventually lead to a rise in the number of selfish members who are incapable of building relationships, which can have a lasting impact on society as a whole. The world may become an unpleasant place to live. For instance, an article published by researchers in the UK stated that by 2050, the world would fulfill with almost seventy-five per cent of selfish people, compared with the current statistics.

In conclusion, I am convinced that the increasing irreverent attitude towards senior citizens is a serious issue, which can result in severe repercussions. Thus, it is vital that people actively take measures to eradicate this worrying situation as soon as possible.