It is said that a growing number of people tend to buy food products which are produced overseas instead of consuming typical plates . While a number of factors can explain this trend, some countries have taken measurements to reduce the consumption of imported food.

Heavy marketing is the principle reason why inhabitants consume food from abroad increasingly. Anyone have become a target audience for the marketing industry, even toddlers or old people. They are swayed by advertisements to adopt the values of the consumer society, possessing more and more things which, they are told, will bring them health, happiness. This leads to residents think that overseas food goods bring more benefits than local cuisine despite of their cost.

There are three measures that would be effective in tackling the rise in the popularity of imported food. Firstly, governments should raise taxes on the import of food goods to encourage people buy more local food. Secondly, the more campaigns about local food's consumption are held, the more awareness can be raised.For example, in Vietnam, a campaign called" Vietnamese buy Vietnamese products" gains certain achievements. Last but not least, more preferential policies for consuming regional food good should be imposed.

In conclusion, marketing is the main reason for the rise in consumption of imported food but measures can be taken to combat this trend.