In many countries, more and more young people are leaving school but unable to find jobs. What problems do you think youth unemployment causes for individuals and the society? What measures should be taken to reduce the level of unemployment among youngsters?

In modern society, an increasing number of school-leavers have difficulty getting a job. It is undeniable that several issues have resulted from this tendency and some solutions should be implemented to mitigate the rate of unemployed young people.

To begin with, there are several drawbacks of youth unemployment influencing both themselves and society. According to an individual’s perspective, it is detrimental to the mental health of university graduates. That’s because these students are under a lot of stress stemming from their family and peers, resulting in depression, suicidal thoughts, and even self-harm. For instance, family conflict is the leading cause of youth suicide on a yearly basis. On top of the negative effect on themselves, it also affects the quality of life in the community. This may be explained by the fact that high youth joblessness contributes to the proliferation of crime. In other words, if their standard of living does not allow them to meet their basic needs, they will have to turn to illegal acts to generate income, such as robbery, shoplifting, pickpocketing, or burglary.

Since such issues are serious, the government and individuals should take steps immediately to address them. One solution to this problem is for the authorities to encourage the cooperative education program. It means that we provide students with the opportunity to gain practical work experience prior to graduation. Take FPT Software as an example; they ran a recruiting program for those who studied at its university. The main purpose of this scheme is to create favorable conditions for nurturing talented students. Furthermore, school-leavers should have a defined career path early on to have enough time to be well prepared. This is because those who acquire essential knowledge and skills have a good competitive edge over their counterparts. For example, it is clear that students who possess award certificates for excellent student contests are directly offered

To sum up, there are various negative consequences of high youth joblessness, and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these problems, not only by the government but also by individuals.