In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and towards urban areas. Why do you think that is? What problems can this cause?

More and more people leave rural areas and relocate to cities, which has been a prevalent trend in many nations around the world. There are various reasons for this movement and this also lay some effects on societies and individuals.

First of all, this phenomenon results from several factors, mainly in term of the difference of the employment opportunities and the diversity of amenities and facilities between two places. In cities, with a wide range of vacancies, people can find better jobs which not only offer them more considerable amount of income but also more competitive working environment where employees have to develop themselves to survive, receive appreciation and make better career progress, otherwise they would be left behind. Compared to living in countryside or suburbs, opportunities related to a person’s career are more noticeable. Moreover, another reason for this trend is due to its convenience of which non-urban areas can shortage. For example, it is difficult to see a movie theater, large shopping malls, modernised hospitals in countryside but there are several of them in downtown.

However, this type of change poses solemn problems to our societies which we have to face nowadays. First, when a great number of people flock in a modest spot, it will produce social tension or discrimination between the rich and the poor because there would be some individuals who cannot afford what they want such as a good occupation or shelter and some who can effortlessly achieve what they need. In other words, the society will become imbalanced. Besides, apparently, the level of population will increase especially in metropolitan areas. Many big cities cope with this problem regarding air pollution, noise pollution and water contamination from household, workplaces, factories or human daily activities. The relocation has aggravated the environment in many regions for the expansion of cities so that they can suffice enough space for migrated people.

In conclusion, for better or worse, the moving trend would continue despite some negative influences as people tend to perceive acceptable reasons behind their decision between rural life or urban life.