In many countries, people in big cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

As the population of people living in big cities grows larger, the lifestyles of them change as well. People that live in urban tend to either live alone or in small family units for many reasons. That style of living is affecting a large number of aspect in the people’s lives.

Firstly, members of a small family units tend to get more privacy. It is due to the fact that they will get a lot more personal space or even a room for each person, not having to see each other every seconds in the house. Privacy is an important element for people to feel comfortable in their living space, make their home feels a whole lot more welcoming.

Secondly, living alone or in small family units means that there will be much less opinion to argue about. If they live alone, they can have everything run by their rules and do not have to follow or listen to anybody else’s opinion, it gives them more freedom to do things around the house. Not limited to that, no argument means that they will have a much more peaceful lifestyle, do not have to stress out more when they come home everyday.

Thirdly, groceries, electricity bills, etc. in big cities tend to cost a lot more than in the country side, that means living alone or in a small family is the most efficient way to save money. If there is a small number of mouth to feed, much less money will be needed.

To conclude, I think that living alone or in small family units in big cities is a positive trend for a large number of reason.