In many countries, people like to eat a wider range of food than can be grown in their local place. Therefore, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that numerous people enjoy eating a variety of food coming from different regions. From my perspective, the benefits of this development are outweighed by its drawbacks.

On the one hand, the option is advantageous to some extent. The main benefit is that people have access to a greater variety of food, leading to a more diverse and interesting culinary experience than they would have if they were limited to only locally grown produce. In addition, importing food from other regions may provide various nutrients and vitamins that are not available in their local area. Furthermore, the import and export of food can create new business opportunities and help to grow the economy. For example, Da Lat has many kinds of dried fruits, especially dried persimmons, a local specialty that only Da Lat has; therefore, local authorities take advantage and promote planned and large-scale production for export to major markets such as the UK and the US, which may earn foreign exchange.

On the other hand, I believe that despite such advantages, disadvantages are more significant. Firstly, as food has to be transported over long distances, this has a negative impact on greenhouse gas emissions as it creates a significant carbon footprint. Second, nations that rely significantly on imported food may be more susceptible to supply interruptions brought on by environmental, political, or economic issues. For example, in 2011, a major earthquake and tsunami in Japan disrupted the country's supply chain, leading to shortages of food and other essential goods. Finally, if people rely heavily on imported food, they may lose their connection to their local food culture and traditional cuisine, which can be a loss to their cultural identity.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of this development are more significant than the advantages.