In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. Why? Is this a positive or negative development?

We are living in a period of time that sees a big change in fashion style, especially in some eastern countries when people tend to dress like a westerner. There are some reasons for this tendency and it would affect society in many different ways.

There are two main features causing this shift in wearing trend such as in Vietnam, Chinese or Korea. First of all, the development of economic growth could be a good opportunity for the mixture of every culture in terms of the flat world nowadays. This is the major factor that affects directly on choosing clothes habit. The civilized society in western typically in Europe has outstripped most of the eastern countries for decades, thus easterners have preferred to copy the westerners in lifestyle, for example in fashion choice. Furthermore, traditional clothes usually are considered as outdated outfits in modern life. People should choose to wear fashionable clothes such as suits, shirts or jeans rather than antique ones which have lots of olden details on them and no longer be appropriate nowadays.

However, this tendency could have negative impacts on society. The differences in outfits might identify who you are or your nationality because of their own features have been presented outside. Nevertheless, during the trend of wearing as same as each other in many regions and nations, the diversity in culture is being threatened seriously. Many traditional clothes are in urgent preservation as a tangible cultural heritage in attempts of local government to maintain one of the uniqueness of their country while others took a worse consequence which is completely disappearing. Moreover, this clothing trend also has a negative influence on the awareness of the younger people in society. The youth would have no attitudes in protecting or any sense of cherishing spiritual values that the previous generations left them.

In conclusion, wearing western clothes is trending in many nations recently and it influences some aspects of modern society but above all, it caused more negative impacts instead of positive ones.