In many countries, people now wear Western clothes (suits, jeans) rather than traditional clothing. Why? Is this a positive or negative development.

A few subjects are as likely to provoke controversy as in many nations, in recent years, people have a proclivity to wear Western garments rather than conventional clothes. There are various reasons for this trend and I personally think it brings both advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are at least three main reasons can be identified. Firstly, it is no doubt that the notion of modernism in terms of dressing is one of the roots of this trend. Frankly, people find traditional clothes seem to be no longer and suitable, even are outdated. Secondly, with the significant influences of Western cultures through movies and music, young people tend to imitate their public figures and change their style. Finally, there are myriads of transcontinental corporations appeared, in particular, occidental companies which require their staff to wear westerly uniforms, suits or skirts, for example. As a result, making a contribution to reshaping fashion patterns of the indigenous.

On the other hand, this development has both merits and demerits. On the good side, in the age of globalization, it is beneficial for people who adopt this new style such as becoming gradually more integrate into international environments. By contrast, some occidental garments seem too sexy or revealing that are not fitting many national traditions. Besides, people also worry about cultural assimilation among nations. For example, Ao Dai and Ao Ba Ba, conventional clothes in Viet Nam are now rarely wore, exceptionally on special occasions like Tet holidays and other traditional festivals. Therefore, people around the world have to facing the loss of the national identity.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for wearing Western clothes in some countries and this tendency brings both negative and positive consequences.