In many countries, people wear more western-style clothes(suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

Just as English found its way into becoming a language commonly spoken and understood, western clothing started finding its way into our daily lives. Nowadays, many people, especially youngsters, prefer western clothing whereas a handful believe that traditional attire represents the culture and identity. In my opinion, I feel adapting the western fashion is a negative effect and the reasons will be explained in this essay.

There are several reasons for the increasing popularity of western clothing. One of them is high status. Western styles have become a symbol of status in many societies which has its roots from the colonial era where looking like the colonizers was considered a sign of affluence and influence. In many places, western clothing is considered a sign of good fortune, quality education, and financial status. furthermore, many feel modern dressing is much comfortable as well as practical. It is easier to perform different kinds of tasks from running errands to performing on stage wearing jeans rather than a saree or churidar.

However, I believe, traditional clothes, on the other hand, should not be completely discarded. They symbolize our culture and identity and it is necessary to preserve them. These customs were followed by our ancestors for ages and if we do not promote them it is likely that they may become extinct. Moreover, national dresses portray unity. Research showed that youngsters wearing traditional clothes irrespective of western fashion pressure showed fewer emotional problems. The reason was that they were more attached to their ancestral customs and traditions.

In conclusion, I believe it is important to have a balance in all things, and hence it is inappropriate for one to completely set aside their traditional clothes and become a follower of western styles or vice-versa. We should follow the new trends but not shy away from our culture which helps to promote our culture.