Nowadays, it is an undeniable truth that the quality of life in many colossal cities is declining and city dwellers are facing a large amount of bad issues. This following essay will discuss some major drawbacks and suggest steps for resolving them.

To begin with, the most common problem in big cities is environmental pollution. The dramatic growth of urban residents leads to increased use of private vehicles, which significantly raises traffic congestion and releases more harmful emissions into the atmosphere. These things directly cause the worsening of inhabitants’ health. Secondly, in some high density urban areas, an increasing number of citizens could not manage to find work, so that homelessness and poverty are very regular. The other often mentioned cause is intensified crime rates, leaving city dwellers feel unsafe and stress. For instance, some big cities in South America and India are not recommended for both local and foreign women to be alone outside.

There are some solutions that governments and communities could consider to address the problem. Referring back to the pollution and residents’ health, authorities should provide more public transportation to reduce personal vehicles. As a result, it will decrease traffic jams and air pollution. Another method is that cities need to enlarge existing commercial areas as long as develop new ones to maintain a workplace for all citizens. Finally, by adding more policemen and video recorders in some special places that have high probabilities of delicts, crime events might have been reduced to the acceptable level.

To summarise, it is a fact that the quality of life in metropolitan cities are decreasing, which is mainly due to overpopulation and uncontrolled commercialisation. However, if countries and governments could consider and apply some smart plans and experts’ recommendations, it is hoped that residents in large cities will have better experiences.