In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, it has been far more normal people to live alone or live in a nuclear family, especially those who live in big cities. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative effects that I will examine in this essay.

On the one hand, people living in a small family or living alone have several advantages. Firstly, individuals choose to live for their own life may become more independent and responsible for their selves. For example, a young adult will have to learn how to cook, how to earn and save money to pay all the house bills, which are valuable skills for their life. Secondly, deciding to live in a small family means that people can have more freedom in doing what they want without disturbing other family members. For instance, children enjoy listening to loud music or dancing in their rooms and they do not worry about their grandparents whether they like it or not because of living in a nuclear family. Last but not least, parents can spend more time taking care of their child as they are close-knit together.

On the other hand, this trend I have given above can cause negative angles. Initially, feelings are considered to be one of the most detrimental factors when living by themselves. Due to isolating from a family, they are able to experience loneliness, depression, and anxiety. people can capable of missing out the daily conversation and feeling the house bills are overweighed that sometimes they cannot handle it. By contrast, people, who do not stay in an extended family, usually tend to become an indolent person. this is because they lack the encouragement of other members. Moreover, a human living in a small family sometimes is unable to find common voices, share the same interests, and communicate his/her stories to siblings, which make them feel confined by their own family.

In conclusion, nowadays, people tend to live in a nuclear family or live alone causing both negative and positive effects that I mentioned above.