There is a growing tendency among women to feel reluctant about getting married nowadays. Many people think that since women are capable of earning their own bread, they do not need the financial support which marriage provides. I agree with this statement to some extent; however, I also believe that there are additional factors, such as loss of freedom and increased divorce rate accounting for this trend.

One of the main reasons for women not wanting to tie the knot is women earn almost as much money as any male does these days. This is because, the gender gap, which used to prevail in the society earlier, undermining and confining females to stay within the four-walls of the house for doing household chores and raising children, is no longer present. In other words, women are coming out of their cocoons and entering the job market to provide for their families as well as for themselves. For instance, a recent study published in a renowned magazine reported that the last decade has witnessed a 45% increase in women participation in the job sector all over the world. Thus, the financial security, which the women used to seek after getting marriage, is no longer required for them. Consequently, the marriage rate has constantly declined over the past few years.

On the other hand, some women are scared of getting married due to the fear of losing their freedom. The reason behind this, in our conventional society, women are generally not allowed to go outside without any companion after marriage, which restricts their right as a human being. However, before marriage they can do whatever they like, go wherever they want without thinking much about the social norms. Actually, this gives rise to a fear in women’s mind, holding them back from starting a family with a husband. Moreover, the incidence of divorce has surpassed the number of marriage in a few countries. Because of this, women think of marriage as an emotional turmoil, which makes them think instead of going through a broken marriage, it is better not to get married at all.

In conclusion, while women earning money act as a causative factor for their reluctance in marriage, I think that the anxiety for losing independence and soaring divorce rate need to be taken into account as well.