In many countries, young people are granted certain privileges and responsibilities at the age of sixteen. Clearly parents have a responsibility to both care for and prepare their children as they approach this important milestone.

To what degree should parents intervene in the lives of their 14-15 years-old children?

One of the most controversial issues today related to what age and situations parents should interfere with their offspring. This essay will examine this question from both point of view.

On one side of the discussion there are people who argue that parents should be involve in any situation of their children. The main reason for this is that parents have the right to interfere at any age because they are supporting emotionally and economically. It is also possible to say that parents represent the only real and uninterest advice to their children because they want the best to them. One good illustration of this is when a 14 or 15 years old adolescent is concern about having sex, parents are the only that understand the real consecuence of this action, such as pregnancy or sex related diseases.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make an opposing case. It is often argued that in fact a 14- 15 years-old child need to take their own decision and learn from their experiences. People have this opinion because many adolescent are dependent of their parents due to parents have the complete control of their children. A second good point is that young adults will not trust on their parent, because they see them as an oppressive authorities than reliable parents. A particularly good example here is when a young adult trust more on their friends than their parent leading to commit many mistake.

In conclusion, there are not easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that parents should be involve in the main part of their children but teaching them they are able to understand any situation.