Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think that the best way to reduce crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective way/measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

Alcohol is thought to be the cause behind plenty of offences, presently; therefore the most influential method implemented is prohibition of alcoholic beverage in order to decline crime rate, some people believe. However, personally I am not a proponent of this standpoint for some reason.

First of all, utilization of alcohol do not appear the major factor to different offences. In fact plenitude of wrongdoings and felonies such as serial murder, organized crime or white collar crime are derived from conscious people who are not drunk and able to conceive nefarious actions towards society. Such beverage plays a minor role in these assortments of offences. Additionally, many countries and regions, developed or developing, have deemed liquor as culture and tradition such as Germany, France and Vietnam, where their residents booze regularly. If the authorities enforce the prohibition of beers or wines, the repercussion will be immense to the society and economy in a detrimental manner.

As regards feasible measures, new type of retribution should be introduced, deployed and maintained uniformly and strictly. Government should outlaw some stringent rules whose punishment are not loosened or disregarded by rising drastically not only fine but also length of incarceration. With this sort of regulation, when people consider drinking, they would agonize and seek the most appropriate way and behaviour for punishment avoidance legally and wisely. As a matter of fact, there is not such efficient solution to shackle people who drink intentionally and lack consciousness, then do the harm to other people and their community.

To conclude, liquor consumption cannot be restricted because of its ineffectiveness and impossibility. Nonetheless, people can modify the negative consequences by devise more stringent policies encouraging and enforcing people to comply.