Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will be no longer necessary because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer. Do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on whether we should maintain art galleries and public museums or not because of the development of technology such as computer in term of displaying historical objects and artworks. Despite the advantages of computer’s applications and services it is indispensable for those buildings to exist and be appreciated.

First and foremost, many art galleries and public museums have played significant roles in tourism industry. Obviously, some must-see spots such as Lourve in France and the British Museum in England have attracted multitude of visitors every years. Closing down these destinations can influence national and international tourism around the world detrimentally as tourists who want to explore a nation’s culture or history cannot find a suitable place for a visit. They can learn about them through computer technology, however when they are travelling, they prefer to opt for a real trip and authentic objects. Moreover, a nation may experience a rise in their income when people continue to have more options on their trip with not only photogenic tourist attractions but also destinations where artefacts and artworks are displayed.

Another reason why proceeding art galleries and museum outweighs the idea of stopping them is because the artworks and artefacts can be preserved under better condition. People will devote their time, finance and energy to retaining the value and quality of those objects in order not to mar them, negatively affecting the work’s conditions and tourists’ experience. If they are only used once for the display on websites, or applications and then stored all the time, they can be ignored by the staff or authorities. Also, this is a great way to show our appreciation and praises to our ancestors and artisans or artists who enthusiastically create those items.

To conclude, even though computers can support the process of information acquisition, the buildings serving with the purpose of proceeding the mankind’s art and past should not be altered or removed wholly.