Many criminals commit further crime as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

It is true that crime rates have been accelerating significantly these days, especially many offenders tend to turn back to crimes after being released from jails and pose a major threat to the society. This state of affairs can be attributed to several factors and this essay will suggest several viable solutions to remedy this situation.

There are two main contributors to the recidivism of criminals. Chief of these is that with criminal records drastically reducing their employment opportunities, convicts have to struggle to find a job. For example, most employers would refuse to recruit ex-prisoners because they suppose that these inmates are unreliable, they may continue involving illegal activities and cause loss to the company. Added to this is the fact that there is a lot of stigma attached to convicted people. Many do not accept criminals to reside in their communities and treat them with suspicion and apathy, which would make lawbreakers suffer extreme hardship to earn their livelihood and integrate into the community; therefore, they are likely to be lured into social evils again.

The problems of culprits committing unlawful actions can be addressed in a number of ways. The governments should implement rehabilitation programs for the offenders to recoup. These could range from providing prisoners with education of vocational training during their life imprisonment to conducting counseling sessions with psychological therapists for criminals, both of which are necessary for their reformation and personality development. In addition, authorities need to facilitate the lawbreakers to do more community services. These activities not only give convicts a chance to repay the community, but also attach themselves to the society, hence people could partly change their mindset and attitude towards inmates in a much better way.

In conclusion, the causes of escalating committing crime rate of ex-prisoners are unemployment and the society stigma of lawbreakers, and the solutions lie in applying efficacious rehabilitation programs and encouraging doing more community services