Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

The re-offence of prisoners after being released tends to become a seriously fundamental issue in many countries. This essay explores the causative agents of this as well as proposes some positive solutions.

The prison systems considered as the first reason exacerbate the situation. Because of mixing criminals together instead of separating based on the committing levels, it is hard to prevent from bullying and the negative influences, which directly impact to both behaviors and spirits of offenders, and then, undoubtedly, they could re-offend in the short time. Secondly, were someone to commit once in their life, they would receive the criminal record. In other words, this person needs to write all what he had done into his CV, so finding out a job after being release turns to more difficult. Additionally, most prisoners are poverty, unemployment and lack of education, they have no other ways to make a living, but offending. By many relevant grounds, the re-offence is not totally impossible although they have just been released.

The national governments are responsible for solving this issue. To improve prisons’ educational level, the academic and vocational training should be provided in the jail. Besides, it is suggested that the accommodation between offenders and the public should be held throughout some special kinds of activities that the criminals can feel useful for their local communities as well as narrow down the discriminating gap in society. Finally, by giving the job opportunities for the prisoners after being released, governments are able to help them think positively and earn money by their own ability. It is no easy to carry out those measures, but utterly possible to reduce the re-offence.

In conclusion, the accurate estimation of governments and society are very important in reducing the number of the criminals, especially those who re-offend after they have been punished.