Many different countries have most shops and products as the same. Some consider it a positive development, whereas others consider it negative. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Globalisation has ushered in a lot of similarities across a wide range of products. Some believe this to be a boon, while others are of the opine that this has detrimental effects. This essay will shed light on both the perspectives. I, however, support the former thought.

To commence with positives, people have better choices, as everything is available everywhere. This gives a sense of uniformity among the people. For instance, in the past people in India had only two brands of shoes to choose from, that is Bata and Carona. But now brands like puma, adidas, nike and many more are available in the Indian market. This is possible due to the rise in trade. Additionally, countries involved in importing and exporting goods have better relations, which can help them to improve each other’s economic conditions. For example, many of the middle eastern countries involve in exchange of oil with other necessary products like food and water which is scarcely produced due to their unsupported climatic conditions.

On the other hand, people have become so involved in buying these globalised goods that they have forgotten about their authentic home-made goods. This has led to huge fall in the vendors selling native materials. For example, in India the usage of nylon as a primary material for clothing is wide spread. This has led to downfall of clothing materials like cotton and khaki which are authentic to India. This phenomenon has bought in death of many local businesses.

In conclusion, similarities in shops and products have both light and dark side, but according to me the merits seem to outweigh the demerits.