Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are various foods and drinks that have the high amount of sugar than standard and that may cause health issues in the future. Some people believe that we should manufacture sugary products with higher costs to prevent people from consume them too much, I personally disagree with the idea.

On the one hand, it is not reasonable to make people pay more for a product that does not have added values. The price of a product are based on its value so when products like food or drink that contain high level of sugar do not bring more values to customers, this only is beneficial for stores. It may result in more and more places where sell unhealthy products will appear. For example, when the prices of fast-food increase without the rise in materials, there are more stores that are opened to sell them and it can have more people consume these products.

On the other hand, there are more effective methods to encourage people to consume less sugar. Firstly, governments can introduce some regulations to force manufacturers to produce less sugar products and they will subsidize for them. By this way, people will be able to have more healthy choices with the reasonable prices. Secondly, it is likely to be better when people are aware the drawbacks of junk foods and actively avoid eating them. When people understand the negative impacts of sugary products on their health, they will decide not to consume them without any forces. Finally, we should look for another products to replace for sugary products and this will have a positive impact in the long run.

In conclusion, while some people argue that products that contain high levels of sugar should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar, I believe that this is not reasonable and there are various ways to help people to eat more healthy.