Many museums and historical sites are mainly used by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent decades, travelling has gained in popularity thanks to the development of global and domestic tourism activities. It is believed that there is a growing trend in visiting museum and historical site among visitors while local people are not really interested in. There are reasons to explain this trend and I reckon that authorities play important role in attracting more local citizens by various solutions.

The reasons why tourists pay more attention to cultural and historical sites are various. First, museums and historical sites are the most popularly advertised and introduced to tourists more than local people. Visitors can easily access information about these places on the internet or tourist information desks all over the areas. As a result, once visitors do a research on their visiting places, they can always come up with museums and other well-known sites. Second, people in general prefer discovering new cultures and stories than their existing ones. Take cultural museums as an example, people in local area assume that exhibitions shown in museums are entirely familiar so they are not urged to come and discover more.

There are a wide range of solutions that local government should apply to encourage their citizens to pay a visit to these places. First, authorities should enhance cultural and historical propaganda and advertising activities in order to attract public attention. For instance, schools organise museum tours for their students as extra-curricular so that young citizens would have the chance to experience their local cultures and history. Additionally, entrance fees to these sites should be free of charge or generously reduced for their local people. As a result, authorities would take large public attention to those tourism sites.

In conclusion, cultural and historical sites are receiving more attention by tourists due to many reasons. However, it is not without solutions that local government can take to modify this situation.