Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Many museums and historical heritages nowadays are swarming with oversea tourist but not local people. There are a number of reasons behind this point of view and solutions to tackle it.

There are various reasons why local people are not interested in visiting museums and historical sites. First of all, local people have been tie to their place since they were a child. Therefore, they are too familiar with the history of their region, whereas, foreigners who is new to a local culture so they may discovery via museums and historical places for satisfying their curiosity. In addition, the way museums arranging exhibits is a dearth of creativity that make the local find it boring. For an example, in Vietnam, the museums tend to show the stuff in a linear without its own story. It is such a simple and unattractive arrangement.

However, measures must be taken to solve these issues by the government. The first solution is that the museums and historical places are allowed to use government funding for the arts to refresh exhibit to appeal to local people coming and appreciating literary and artistic heritage there by new methods. For instance, the virtual reality (VR) technology should be applied in museums that have ability to display clearly how life in the past was or how incident people use the stuffs. This is definitely a way can deeply impress on people. The second solution is that the government can stimulate local people to visit museums and heritage sites through boosting advertisement for their image on poster, TV programmes, social media. For an example, in Japan, they embark on creating fan page for museums and it is very succesful to appeal not only tourists but also japanese.

In conclusion, It is obvious that there are a variety reasons for losing the attraction of museums and historical sites and steps need to be done to deal with these problems.