Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It has been stated that although flocks of foreign travelers can commonly be seen at museums and historical sites, the opposite is the case for local visitors. From a personal perspective, visiting museums or historical places plays a more crucial part in the quality of the trip of international visitors than that of domestic ones. Despite being not over-excited that these places, local citizens can be drawn attention by advertising campaigns undertaken by ambassadors of museums.

The first aspect to consider regarding the most interesting features of these places to foreigners concerns the meaning of their trips. It can be seen that as for international tourists, traveling to another country is not only about enjoying its cuisine, custom, or sightseeings but it is also about enjoying that country’s past and present. Therefore, in order to explore and experience the country’s history, museums or historical sites resemble the best choice, in which they can also purchase symbolic gifts of the country for their friends. In contrast, with regard to the local population, learning domestic history since they were young makes them get bored and too familiar with these places. As a consequence, there is no more motivation which can encourage them to discover and have more acknowledge about museums or even historical sites.

To solve this problem, a method which is worth a try pursuing is proceeding advertising campaigns to seize native population’s attention. It is notable that due to being taught theoretically, most people recognize history as an uninteresting major. Thus, learning something new out of books can turn this subject into more attractive by discovering practical and observing acknowledgement. To make it real, social-events, such as attending plays or competitions, should be organized at these places by the cooperation among schools, museums and historical sites. Furthermore, museums can operate marketing or advertisements with appealing content about their events or promotions on social media as Facebook, Reddit or Instagram, which target at young people.

In conclusion, without memorial places, international visitor’s trips will be meaningless since they cannot reach the country’s history. In addition, more energy activities or campaigns should be held in order to encourage more local citizens to visit.