Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantage?

Museums are places which preserve history, tradition and many other essential things of a country. Nowadays, some museums require visitors to pay money for entrance fee while others are free to visit. Charging people for admission to museums may have both advantages and disadvantages. Personally, I suppose it brings more benefits than drawbacks.

The first advantage is that money collected from visitors can be used to maintain and develop museums. For instance, there are a lot of cost that museums have to pay, such as staff cost, repairing cost, and electric cost. Thus, people pay money for entrance ticket, which results in increasing financial source of museums because money invested by the government can not enough to pay all this cost. So charging admission to visiting helps museums to develop better and provide higher services.

Furthermore, when museums require people to pay fee to visit, visitors are likely to become more careful and pay more attention to historical values. For example, I will read detail information provided in museum if I have to buy entrance ticket. Because I want to get some values or knowledge from the money that I spend. As the result, admission fee encourages people to learn and gain more historical information of a country.

In conclusion, although admission charge will make some people feel uncomfortable, it also has several benefits helped visitors use maximum museum facilities and maintaining museums.