Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, thanks to the development of technology, museums have become a more appealling tourist attraction than in the past. It is true that a significant number of museums require entrance fee while other services are free. Despite the fact that this tendency might bring back those museums a considerable amount of money, which can be use for upgrading or renewing facilities, I believe that the drawbacks are far greater since this might prevent some people from entering the museums, as well as exacerbate the gap between different social levels.

To commence with, this tendency might create a barrier for those who want to go to museums but are financially uncapabled. Students who are passionate about history or science could act as an illustration, since they are small children and are not monetary independent, they would not be able to pay such fees. As a result, the number of visitors might decrease rapidly, which means those museums would receive less revenue leading to the edge of closing for lack of income.

Furthermore, since not only young children would not be able to afford those fees, but also the underpriviledge are in the same situation, the social gap could become greater. This is because only people with high income could enter the museums, and poor people are abandone from approaching new technology or historical masterpieces. Consequently, citizens from all around the world might feel angry and start several sacks standing for their human rights and human equality.

Even though entrance fees might bring them a slight increase in revenue, as certain visitors would not be able to pay those fees, this might bring back some adverse effects that have been mentioned.

In conclusion, I contend that although this tendency might create extra revenue for the museums, its demerits are more significant such as preventing students from entering museums for educational purposes or exacerbating social gap between the priviledge and the poor