Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

"For many years, museums have been considered as attractive places for many tourists. Nowadays, significant arguments have been addressed regarding the entry fee for these sites. In my opinion, I contend that museum visitors should be charged, since money is a vital tool for their persistence for several reasons.

First of all, museums are non- productive. In other words, museums are not like the factories which can produce various goods and sell it to make a profit. Accordingly, implementing a fee, even a nominal one, is necessary for the maintenance of these touristic buildings. A salient example is the Egyptian national museum, which has been closed because there was no available fund to run it.

Furthermore, incentives from selling the tickets provide additional resources to the country’s budget. It is well known that many countries depend mainly on tourism to flourish their economy. For instance, Thailand where an extravagant number of tourists travel to visit its museum, interestingly, the main contributor to its budget comes from selling museum tickets.

Nevertheless, applying such fees may be discouraging for many. That is because some might find it unappealing and costly to go to a museum and watch stony antiques. Although this may be a fact, I believe that this attitude is not so common. Moreover, those non-interested might damage these sites if they visited them without any payment, as they would not appreciate their value.

In conclusion, payment to visit museums is crucial for development and refurbishment of these valuable sites. In my opinion, the benefits of applying a fee, even a small one, would be great if it was generalized."