Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

People ought to pay an entrance fee at some museums, whilst they are allowed to enter for free at other museums. Even if travelers prefer not to spend their money on admissions, I insist that museums should charge for some reasons. This essay will discuss why people should pay fees at museums and will explore some examples related to this situation.

Firstly, no one can doubt that it takes a huge amount of money to maintain museums. Given this situation, it is clear that museums need a source of income by selling entrance tickets, even if the major role of museums is not making money. For instance, one of the free museums in South Korea recently shut down since they were underfunded, which could have not happened if they charged a little amount of money to people.

Secondly, if museums are free, it will be dotted with homelessness, who are eager to find warm places, clean washrooms, and purified water, who can make trouble with tourists. For example, the Art Gallery of Busan in South Korea used to open to everyone for free, but it had negatively impacted people who wanted to enjoy their leisure time at the gallery as they were distracted by screaming homeless people. In order to keep museums and galleries safe and clean, it is required to charge some amount of money.

It is often argued that the museum should be free since it plays a major cultural role, and it is sometimes said that cultural institutions have to give chance to everyone regardless of their wealth. However, this essay reaffirms that museums should charge for admission for the sake of themselves.