Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem

It is true that there are plenty of cases of criminals re-offending after being caught for the first time. While there are several causes of this tendency, solutions can be adopted to solve it.

There are two primary reasons why people commit crimes again. The first one is that the legal system has not effectively solved the root cause of crimes, which is poverty. After paying fines or being imprisoned, offenders would find it difficult to either find jobs or seek help from the public due to criminal records. Therefore, they are likely to be unemployed and resort to unfair means to earn a living. The second cause might be that governments lack education and mental health treatments for criminals. For example, lawbreakers who have a drug addiction or aggression tend to re-offend if they do not receive education and psychological treatment.

However, the authorities could take steps to solve this problem. Offenders should be provided programs and learn a trade so that they can look for a job more easily. To be more specific, these programs could involve volunteers to teach vocational skills to lawbreakers. Furthermore, governments should let psychologists talk to criminals, especially juvenile ones, in order to cure their psychological issues. Ultimately, lawbreakers who receive both education and mental health treatments would be able to make ends meet and behave properly towards the public, hence deterring them from committing a crime again.

In conclusion, although some lawbreakers might re-offend, governments could help them to lead a normal life and stay away from offenses.