More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone

In recent decades, there has been a tendency that residents, especially young ones, move to major cities for many reasons. There are certainly plenty of adversities, but governments could take steps to solve these adversities.

There is a wide range of difficulties involved in living in a metropolitan area. One of the main issues is the costs of living, including housing, taxes, groceries, and many more. Even though salaries are also higher than those in rural areas, these costs still place a financial burden on citizens, particularly the ones who have just moved to cities. The next difficulty when living in a metropolis is noise levels. These can come from many sources like cars, horns, or even people. Since cities tend to have no extra land, and people are likely to live next to each other, it is inevitable to hear noises from neighbors. Both financial issues and noise levels can have a tremendous effect on citizens’ health and might lead to diseases like insomnia or anxiety.

However, governments can propose solutions to the above problems. First, the authorities could reduce taxes imposed on low-income residents as taxes are a significant part of the costs of living. This could ultimately relieve stress on citizens, and they would have more money to enhance their living standards. Second, local governments should set a fixed time when activities get more silent. For example, cars are restricted, and citizens are not allowed to make noises in residential areas after 11 PM. This measure is able to help with residents’ sleep quality.

In conclusion, while there are adversities such as noises and costs of living that a resident can face, governments can implement measures to solve these problems.