“Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.”

In recent decades, there has been a debate about the merits of higher education. Although universities aim directly at students themselves, they also benefit society on a large scale.

There are several benefits that colleges could bring to students. The first one is a bachelor's degree, which is paramount to future careers, especially in majors like law or science. In this highly competitive job market, having a bachelor's degree would be an advantage for applicants as it proves applicants’ knowledge about specific fields that they apply. The second merit is that universities are among the best institutions providing desirable skills and knowledge to students, which are extremely beneficial to their work. For example, an accountant who has studied accounting at a university is likely to complete his or her tasks better than the one who did not attend university.

However, university education not only provides individual benefits but also societal ones. On an individual level, it is undeniable that employees with a bachelor's degree tend to have better job opportunities, hence earning higher salaries and enhancing the quality of their lives. On a societal level, colleges would create a skillful and educated workforce, which would contribute to the development of all professions. For instance, if all doctors enter university, they would be more qualified to cure illnesses, and this will develop the medical field in the end. Eventually, economies would also be positively affected, and the life quality of all citizens would be improved.

In conclusion, higher education is definitely wholesome for both college students and societies as a whole.