Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether the practice using animals for testing purposes should be prohibited. Although animals in experiments could suffer pain or improper treatment, they are still necessary for the invention of many medications.

There are some reasons why animal testing should be banned. Animals used for experimental purposes are subjected to force-feeding, food, or water deprivation in order to have the condition in which new drugs can be tested. More cruelly, some laboratories which do not conform to animal rights treat inhumanely and lead to unnecessary deaths. Furthermore, medications tested by animals do not necessarily yield relevant results as human bodies are somewhat different from animal ones. For example, in some cases, drugs tested on birds cannot be used for human beings since human bodies have some distinct features that birds do not have.

However, there are compulsory arguments that proponents of animal experiments can have. Animal testing contributes enormously to the medical and scientific fields, and there is no adequate alternative. Animal testing determines the toxicity as well as the effectiveness of medications, hence resulting in many medical breakthroughs. In the past, many life-saving treatments and cures were invented thanks to animal experimentation. Besides, there have been strict regulations to prevent the mistreatment of animals in laboratories in recent decades. For example, there are methods that can avoid animals experiencing pain in laboratories but still achieve positive results.

In conclusion, while experiments using animals may be inhumane in some cases and maybe ineffective, there are medical treatments that must be tested on animals before being published.