As a part of education, students should spend a period of time living in another country to learn its language and culture. Do you agree or disagree?

People’s opinions differ as to whether students should live in a distant country for a short time in order to master its language as well as its culture. While there are some drawbacks this trend can have, I partly agree that students should be given opportunities to do so.

There are some possible drawbacks of studying abroad. The main one is that it is unsuitable for many families, especially middle-income and low-income ones, to send their children abroad to study as the costs of living there and tuition fees are extravagant. For example, the price of a short course in an unfamiliar country can cost a family five months' salary, which is definitely unaffordable. Instead, this amount of money could be invested in other better education like high-quality online courses. This will not only help families and students save money but also enhance students’ language proficiency as effective as studying overseas.

Despite the above disadvantages, I would argue that students will benefit enormously if they study abroad for a short time to learn a new language and culture. The first advantage is that students would experience a whole new life, and they have to lead an independent life when they are away from their families. This will instill desirable qualities like maturity in students and improve skills such as social skills. The second merit is that studying abroad might be the best way of learning a new language since learners have to speak to, listen to, read, and write in that language throughout a whole day. For example, learners in Vietnam only spend around 3 to 5 hours a week to learn English; if they invest in a foreign course, the amount of time learning English will be more than 10 times that amount of time in Vietnam. This would sharpen their language skills in the fastest way.

In conclusion, even though there are some drawbacks of studying abroad for a short period of time for learning new language purposes, I believe that this is the best way to learn essential skills for life and language skills.