Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is a fact that multiple criminals have a tendency to continue to commit crimes after punished. This is happening due to several reasons. This dissertation will depict this phenomenon specifically and also offer some measures to deal with it.

There are two principal reasons for re-offenders. To commence with, sending criminals into prison is not always an ideal solution. In other words, offenders are put together so they easily make friends with other inmates. This such case even can make the situation worse because they tend to exchange information about what they have done before they were arrested. An egregious plan which beyond our anticipation can be carefully formed step by step. Another conspicuous cause of this situation is related to income sources. A person with a criminal record will find a job more difficult than others as people tend to avoid employing this kind of human. Moreover, most of them have inadequate education and basic skills in any field to maintain a job. As a result, an inevitable circumstance would have happened is that they convict crimes again regardless of the consequences.

To solve this problem, the government should take some solutions into consideration to hinder it before everything becomes more serious. Firstly, the aim of prisons is rehabilitation. Therefore, criminals have to be ensured that when they are sent into prison, they will have a chance to learn at least a specific job skill that is helpful in the future after they are released. A common thing that proceeded in many countries is establishing vocational training in prison. Additionally, giving these people the opportunity to useful things for their local communities to make up for the mistakes of the past. Community service is another way to reform offenders as it can alleviate the negative influence that prison can have. To exemplify, lawbreakers can be required to clean streets or cultivate crops.

In conclusion, recidivism has been one of the current problems for a long time but it can be tackled if the government adopts other approaches rather than just punishment