Many countries import food from different parts of the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

As a globalization era, there has been an increasing tendency of the trading commodity across the globe. From my perspective, it seems that the demerits of importing food may overshadow its merits.

It is clear that some outstanding advantages are existing when countries exchange foods. First and foremost, several fruits and vegetables can only be grown in specific regions. By importing them, people all over the world can have a chance to relish a wider variety of food without travel to their original countries. For instance, America’s climate is not appropriate for mango’s development so that they have to import this fruit from India where many kinds of mango are available. The similarity could be occurred on the special spices and vegetables between tropical climate and temporary weather. Additionally, the more food is imported, the more farming land is no longer needed. It means more land is available for us to build houses and other facilities such as hospitals instead.

However, each coin has two sides, the disadvantages of this trend are even more significant than we can imagine. To commence with, imported food is not always healthy, some of them can be perished and modified to make them more efficient. Preservatives and harmful chemicals often tend to be added to fruits and vegetables to expand their shelf life during a long shipping period. Another conspicuous downside would be related to environment as a higher rate of exhaust fumes. Almost food will be transported by plane and this enhances toxic emissions. Four times the amount of CO2, which is one of the culprits of air pollution, will be released into the air which poses a detrimental effect on the atmosphere directly. As a result, Global Warming which is current happening to us, is inevitable and will exert influence on the future of our planet. On top of that, the economy has not escaped the consequence of this trend either. Competing with the large international market seems to be impossible for local farmers in a long term. More and more people are running out of business because of the lost income. If they stop producing food all together, the country needs to confront with a wide range of higher unemployment rate and has no choice except depend on offshore food.

In conclusion, I believe that importing food brings more negative effects than positive ones. Nevertheless, other viable measures should be taken into consideration by government to alleviate the aforementioned egregious consequences instead of halting the transaction.