Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think that they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress? Give reasons and include relevant examples.

Architectural influence has always played a vital role in the construction. A lion’s share of society believe that old buildings should be demolished and replaced with new, however, the rest go averse it. This essay will cast light on why both buildings plays significant role in any country.

To begin with, there are ample benefits why old buildings should not be knocked down. The predominant benefit is to connect present and past life. To be more precise, old building’s construction is basically related to history and it will succor for fetching more about India’s struggle for independence and value of freedom. For instance, the Gandhi Ashram at Ahmedabad played a pivotal role in our freedom struggle against the British. Another advantage is, tourists visit these old buildings and spend some amount of wealth on that places which help not only for government but also for native people because they provide jobs and extra income for aboriginal people.

On the contrary, in spite of having some merits regarding old constructions, it has some benefits also when it replaced with new buildings. Initially, new buildings are cheaper, beneficial and added with modern technology instead of preserving the old ones. In addition, modern buildings have made the city become fascinating and attractive. As a result, they become one of the tourist’sdestination places because today’s generation easily get boring when they visit old buildings. Eiffel Tower in Paris where thousands of people have visited these modern buildings which is a good example.

To recapitulate, it is rightly said that “old is gold.” Even though new buildings may be cheaper and advanced, old buildings should not be demolished due to enhancing of knowledge, freedom fighter’s struggle and many more.