Many parents choose to teach their children at home instead of sending them to school. Do you think the benefits of homeschooling outweigh its disadvantages?

The option of rearing children domestically instead of entrusting child care responsibility to educational institutions has been widely adopted by parents. Notwithstanding the merits that kids derive from familial bonds, I believe it is overshadowed by the profound downsides of this approach.

For one thing, kids who are educated under the supervision and guidance of their relatives are likely to shoulder the future career that their forefathers have developed. Parents who decide to let their offspring study at home often work remotely or be self-employed, in order to provide full-time instruction for their offspring. In such conditions, children are more inclined to be led in the way in which their parents have embarked on. This individual-based teaching method is considerably advantageous to those who are going to inherit traditional domestic property, which is the career that passed down within generations merely. As a result, they will acquire a good grasp of conducting family business autonomously through personalized training programmes.

For another, I believe that there are subtle disadvantages of this child-rearing approach, leading to deficiency of skills and lack of competency for children. One thing considered, the environment that parents provide for their kids is deemed a form of safety zone but this would result in inferior competency, given the absence of opportunities to put more effort in the training process in order to equate peers and had they been familiar with the personalized curriculum, complying with the general programmes pose a challenging task to their learning abilities and adaptation in the future. Additionally, there are unique skills and activities that parents are incapable of monitoring and organizing during the learning process such as teamwork strategies or debate in front of the crowd. In this fierce society, these two primary features are important for those who seek rewarding jobs and kids who are unable to perform these skills will lose competitive edge to others.

To conclude, the option to raise children in a domestic environment is not effective in the abstract. The drawbacks of this trend undoubtedly outweigh the merits of it.