Many parents send their children to a language center to learn a foreign language such as English as early as they are 5 or 6 years old. It is believed that they both enjoy some benefits and face some problems as well. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages? (There are more advantages than disadvantages?)

Nowadays, foreign language such as English plays an important role in most people’s lives. In response to this increasing importance of English, some children learn it as early as possible. However, many people think children should start learning English later when they are secondary school. From where I stand, it is more effective to begin learning a foreign language at age 5 or six.

Some children might face some trouble. First, they might not get into the new environment of learning different languages quickly. For example, when the go to centres to learn, children cannot learn the languages really fast, they have to get into the environment. That takes about 2 months, because it depends on the ages and their conditions. Second, children might not want to learn the language, but their parents force them to learn, because their parents might want to learn them to learn abroad. For instance, when someone does not want to learn German, but their parents force them to learn. As a result, they will get really stressed.

However, children will have more advantages when learning a second language early. First of all, children who learn a second language early, might learn abroad, then they may get a good job. This cause, they will get high salaries. Thus, this depends on the children’s conditions, because some children do not have enough money to study abroad, even though they know a lot of languages and they learn really well. Moreover, learning a foreign language can help children to know whether if someone saying bad things about you in other languages. For example, if you learn in an International school, which means you learning with students and teachers from all around the world. Maybe, someone might say something bad about you in other languages such as: Korean, Chinese, Japanese,etc, and you all know all of those languages, so can tell the teachers.

In conclusion, In conclusion, people each have their own opinion about the age that children should start learning a second language. I think the age of six is the most suitable age for children to start learning a new language. Some might encounter some difficulty, but most will enjoy more benefits, and they will be better-prepared to enter further education.