Many parents send their children to language center to learn a foreign language such as English as early as they are 5 or 6 years old. It is believed that they both enjoy some benefits and face some problems as well. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

When it comes to a language acquisition, there is always a hotly debated issue of whether or not early introduction of a foreign language has a positive impact on little children. Personally, children should not begin learning a foreign language at the age of five or six; they might enjoy some advantages, but they will face more problems.

Some children learning a foreign language so early may enjoy some benefits. First, it improves their working memory. Because approaching a new language can help children memorise things faster and easier. For example, you can compare a child who starts learning a second language at five and another who starts at twelve. You can make them do a memory test and then you can clearly see that the child who begin learning at five has a better memory. Second, early learning of a second dialect also provides the youngsters with future opportunities. Because nowadays, there are a lot of companies that need people who are able to speak another language like English. And if children can speak a language like English so that they don’t need to worry about unemployment in the future.

However, children may face more disadvantages when learning a second language early. First of all, it is difficult for them to distinguish the two languages. For example, there is a child learning English at school and speaking Vietnamese at home. He often makes mistakes when using these two languages and he is always confused about how to write them. Moreover, socially, numerous kids in the wake of learning an unknown dialect early can't carry on themselves well. At the point when they gain proficiency with a second dialect, for example, English, may turn into intrigued by the way of life of the American or English, and they may overlook their mother culture. For instance, their culture is greeting the elderly by bowing them when they see them but they apply America's culture and say ‘hello’ to older people. And that behavior will be considered as impolite in their culture.

In conclusion, children should not learn a foreign language as soons as they start school. They can be befuddled with their mother tongue and the foreign language. In addition, they cannot behave themselves in a polite way.