Advantages CHILDREN ENJOY and disadvantages THEY FACE from when living in an extende family.

Nowadays in many countries, especially developing ones, a large number of young people and children live in multi-generation families – they are in those with grandparents, uncles, aunts, or cousins, besides their parents. They enjoy some advantages from their small family. However, in a few cases, they may also face several disadvantages when living in such an extended family.

On the one hand, children in this kind of family have some benefits. grandparents’experience can help children to prepare for their life. For example, in my family, my grandparents usually teach me a wide range of useful lessons such as distingushing what is right or wrong through fairy tales. Moreover, families with several generations in the same house help with financial problems. For instance, my aunts, my uncles or my grandparents can lend money to my parents when they need to pay for electric bills and so on.

On the other hand, they sometimes face some drawbacks from living in a large family.

One is that adults such as grandparents have old-fashioned ways of thinking and living so children may feel difficult to follow the members of the family. For examle, grandparents can prohibit chidren from using laptop or a smart phones because they think it is harmful.

But they don’t know that there are many online courses for students so their attitudes are sometimes outdated. Futhermore, children may become reliant on their grandparents. For instance, after a meal, grandparents often wash the dishes for their children because they love them and they think children have a plenty of homework to do.

All in all, the role of adults in a multi-generation family is important as they contribute to helping children distinguish what is right or wrong in the real life and they also help with financial problems. Nevertheless, they think in an old-fashioned way and they make children become dependent.