In some societies, stress is now regarded as a major problem, and it is thought that people suffer from more stress than they did in the past. However, others feel that the amount of stress people have today is exaggerated. They say that previous generations were under more pressure, but the idea of suffering from stress did not exist. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether we are suffering from a greater amount of stress than our seniors years ago. In my point of view, however, young people nowadays are under more pressure than the previous generation because of the well-developed world we are living in.

Hundreds of years ago, predecessors only had two primary concerns in their life. Firstly, regarding the time when they were short of food and water source due to the damage of World War II. Not only the problem was searching for food and water to survive but also looking for where they could hide during the wars. Some parents even lost their children and they lost their motivation to live. Secondly, there were also marital traditions that some regions applied at the time. In Vietnam, for instance, teenagers aged 15 were obliged to get married to a man whom they had not known before. Therefore, those who almost reached this age would be in great concern and under the pressure of getting married.

When it comes to this day and age, I think stress has grown into an alarming problem. As more and more technological devices including novel smart robots have been introduced to the public, people have a lot to worry about in their future. Because this can make them stand a high chance of being made redundant. As a result, they are under high pressure of making ends meet and taking care of their family. Many parents even force their children to study day in and day out so that they can apply for a well-paid job in their future careers. This has led to an increase in the percentage of suicide in many developed countries such as Japan and America in the last few years. The proliferation of technology and artificial intelligence is likely to increase in the next few decades so the number of people who suffer from this pressure would go up accordingly.

In conclusion, although the previous generations may have experienced a shortage of food and water and might have been compiled to engage at a very young age, I think the amount of stress that today’s generation suffers is not to be overlooked.