In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

Recently, there has been a surge in the number of juvenile delinquents worldwide. Look at this matter in-depth, multiple reasons can be found as its root and young offenders should be punished according to their crimes’ severity but not necessary in jail

Regarding the reasons, this phenomenon is derived primarily from the lack of time spent by parents with children, leading to their shortages of knowledge and awareness. It is true that in this hectic world, many parents are too occupied with their jobs that barely can they spend sufficient time with their children to monitor and educate them properly. In addition, with the prevalence of violence on almost every kind of platform from video games to social media nowadays, they are more easily enticed to go off the track

When it comes to young people’s punishments, it should be strong but not as harsh as sentencing them in prisons. In fact, it is scientifically proved that some parts of young adolescents' brains are not fully developed yet, therefore, they may commit crimes by accident and prison may not act as a deterrence for them. Instead, the government can send them back to their families with better supervision or to some special institutions where they can point out their flaws and educate them not to repeat the same mistake again. Consequently, as receiving a second chance to turn over a new leaf, teenagers will behave better in the future

To conclude, it is a pressing issue that juvenile delinquents are witnessed with an upward trend all over the world. This can be contributed by the insufficient care from their parents that make them can not be aware of wrongdoings and as they are not fully grown-up we should not put them into jail as a punishment