Road accidents are more frequent these days and claim many lives each year. As a result, some people suggest that drivers should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single driving test, to improve the situation. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of repeat driving tests?

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Recently, there has been an exponential increase in the number of accidents occurring on roads along with the equivalent growth in traffic-related deaths. Therefore, in order to tackle this problem, it is suggested that there should be more driving tests, rather than only one taken by drivers. In my opinion, although this activity can contain both positivity and negativity, I suppose that the drawbacks can overperform the benefits due to the waste of time and effort that authorities and drivers have to put on these exams

On the one hand, it is true that one test is not enough for people to be proficient in driving. In detail, the practice of taking regular tests can help drivers to fulfill their knowledge about driving that they may have forgotten as it was a really long time ago since they last learned about this. In addition, these tests can also enhance their driving skills as well as ensure their ability in driving. For example, driving tests include both theories and practices, so people taking these tests can not only be provided with more useful tips and information but also equipped with more essential skills and measures to deal with real problems that usually take place on the roads

On the other hand, driving tests can bring a greater deal of shortcomings when they demand a host amount of money, time and effort from not only drivers but also the governments. In fact, it is undoubtedly that if there were more driving examinations held, authorities would have to use their budget to recruit more judges assessing the examinees, which is really wasteful, when this money can be instead invested in facilities-improvement or support the underprivileged residents. Moreover, it is also impossible for people who drive every day to forget about the traffic rules and it would be really problematic for them when driving tests are not free in some countries as well as they have to take these tests over and over again in short periods

To conclude, many people claim that taking driving tests regularly can help reduce the number of road accidents. Nonetheless, I believe that it is unnecessary to do that since it can require a large amount of money and is time-consuming for both drivers and governments. Therefore, the disadvantages should be highly considered, instead, authorities should hold more national campaigns about some common misunderstandings in their driving policies to spread these messages to a larger scale of people