In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

Nowadays there has been a tendency towards the growth level of crime in the young groups in several countries. In my perspective, I reckon that it stems from the situation of leaving school at the early stage, and community service should be implemented to them.

Admittedly, the surge of this trend affects many aspects of life and it is on account of several reasons. Firstly, the young people who are school-leavers are facing obstacles in life, so they have to commit crimes. In fact, many firms highly require a lot of qualifications and skills that those who quit schools do not have acquisition and joining labor force as a blue-collar with very low income annually could not afford to maintain their survival. For instance, in Vietnam, the youngsters who graduate from university with outstanding academic results may have more advantages than others in ensuring an occupation with appealing wages. Thus, they would embrace becoming an offender as drug dealers and robbers since a high income can improve their living standards.

Although this trend would cause detrimental effects to society, the particular penalties should be carefully considered. Firstly, the government should discipline the young criminal community service. In fact, these people only confront difficulties in stabilizing their lives, so if judges abuse heavy penalties such as prison sentences, it would lead to a sense of hostility and disappointment and may return to an old path afterward. Therefore, community service is a prominent option for defendants convicted of crimes since their effort and dedication would contribute to enhancing the image of the community and improving suitable skills for future works. To be more specific, in Western countries, this kind of punishment for those who are under 18 years old is inevitable since it causes less physical and mental damage.

In conclusion, there is much evidence of criminal activities occurring in the children, especially the school-leavers, since they cannot confront others due to the lack of qualifications and skills. Thus, instead of jail sentences that can trigger negative effects, the government should have careful consideration when applying punishment to them.