Many people are afraid of leaving house because of crime. Some think more action should be taken to prevent crime, but others think little can be done. What is your view?

Crime has been a worrying problem in all over the world. The question of whether home is the only place of safety has sparked a great controversy among the public. Some believe that this issue can be address by adding more actions while others concur with the notion that little can be done. However, I partly agree with the former.

There is no denying that deterring potential crimes is of importance in terms of guarantee the security of citizens. Legislating more strict laws and regulations on specific crime cases should be consider as feasible measure. For instance, prolonging the term of imprisonment could act as a deterrent against who have criminal intentions, making them think twice before indulging in illegal acts. Also, lowering the minimum age on punishment is another solution to ordinary crime because young offenders are liable to escape from punishments, which means this policy can totally frighten them off and dispell their notion of conducting illegalities.

Moreover, boosting the popularity of education or opening more technical schools in an urgent task. People who reside in slums with minimum education are inclined to violate rather than those with decent knowledge and a comparatively higher social status. Therefore, improving people’s intellectual standards is equivalent to constitute more job opportunities for people, which also means they will have a stable income and leave a little to be desired. When everyone have an affordability with their lives, there may be no need for them to risk committing crimes.

In conclusion, there a an abundance of formulas to tackle crimes as well as social problems. However, I think those totally depend on effectiveness of activities and continuous efforts from both government and individuals.